Kohlrabi with lemon butter

Until this summer I have never had a moment where I craved kohlrabi.  It has always seemed like one of those vegetables that I throw in a salad to provide a little crunch but really doesn’t wow me with flavor.  Our CSA (community supported agriculture – that is for you Mike), provided us with a bunch of these funky looking kohlrabi balls.  I figured it was time for me to get busy using them and discover a recipe that makes me happy to see more kohlrabi instead of ignoring them in the crisper.  This recipe is all about simplicity but every ingredient used is key.  I have made it three times and the second time I left out the parsley as I didn’t have any on hand.  The flavor was only about 80% there and there was nothing more butter or salt or lemon juice could do to make up for the tablespoon of fresh herbage.  So, here is an easy recipe for kohlrabi that reminds me of the decadence of eating a steamed spring artichoke dipped in butter.

Steamed kohlrabi with lemon butter

1.  Trim the leggy looking pieces off one bunch (about 4) kohlrabi so you have a roundish shape but don’t peel.  Steam covered for 40 minutes/until tender

2.  Cool slightly, peel and chop.

3,  In a saucepan, melt 2 tablespoons of butter over medium heat; stir in 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, 1 clove of garlic and 1 tablespoon of fresh chopped parsley.  Stir around for about 2 minutes and then add chopped kohlrabi.

4.  Toss kohlrabi to coat and season with salt and pepper.

3 Comments

Filed under Appetizers/Side Dishes, misc/ramblings

3 responses to “Kohlrabi with lemon butter

  1. Susan

    Cool picture of the kohlrabi in the blue colander. Interesting way to do kohlrabi. I’ve never tried it steamed.

  2. Thank you! A very nice person gave me the blue colander and I often keep it on my counter and think of her.

  3. I just tried kohlrabi at my local farmer’s market and like it even raw! Next time I’ll try this out – I bet the lemon really made it delicious.

Leave a comment